Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: How should I appeal this please ?
FightBack Forums > Queries > Council Parking Tickets & Clamping and Decriminalised Notices
aneng
Hi Folks,

I was sent on a job (I'm a field engineer) on Friday and parked in a council pay & display car park whilst attending the site. I bought a ticket from the machine, where the displayed price was 70p = 1hour.
I didn't have any change, only a pound coin, so searched all over the machine and the accompanying sign to see if there was any mention of it not giving change, but there was nothing anywhere. I put the quid in, half expecting it to give me a pro-rata expiry time (as some do), but it didn't. I got exactly one hour, expiring at 17:00.

I attended the job and was delayed. I returned to the car about 17:15 to find that I'd been given a ticket at 17:11.

I know that technically I'm probably bang-to-rights guilty but I have what I believe to be mitigating circumstances and wondered if anyone could offer comment please.

The mitigating circumstances, I believe, are;
  • Because the machine did not give change, I had overpaid the 70p fee by 30p, which would have been the equivalent of covering me until 17:25, if calculated pro-rata
  • The car park is free from 6pm onwards anyway. It was 90% empty at the time I was issued the ticket. I have video of the ticket bloke still dishing out tickets at 17:45, just 15 mins before the car park became free. This, to my mind, is absolutely not in the spirit of the intended purpose of charging for parking infringements. The whole point of fining people is to deter drivers from hogging the car park unfairly, thus denying other drivers a space, in my view. Handing out tickets after 5pm on a Friday in a deserted car park that is just about to become free has no purpose whatsoever than to generate income for the council.