Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: M25 Northbound towards M11 - Gantry didn't display NSL after 40 mph speed limit
FightBack Forums > Discussion > The Flame Pit
Peppipoo316
Hello Friends,

Long time lurker as a non-member but my first ever post here.

I was driving on M25 Northbound towards M11. There was a 40 mph speed limit displayed on the gantries for about couple of miles. The gantries following that weren't displaying anything. As an over-cautious driver I continued at 40 mph for about 2-3 miles on the second lane but almost all cars were whizzing past me at Motorway speed. At one point I was being overtaken and undertaken by faster drivers which prompted me to up the speed to 60 gradually for another few miles and to 70. The route ahead was clear with absolutely no congestion. Not even a single gantry was displaying restricted speed limit till I joined M11.

In my opinion, it looks like someone at traffic control forgot to remind drivers that the 40 mph restriction has been lifted with a NSL sign on the gantry. Is my understanding correct?
The Slithy Tove
It happens.

Were you really in lane 2 at 40, with everyone else doing ~70? Good grief!
Peppipoo316
QUOTE (The Slithy Tove @ Sat, 23 Apr 2016 - 13:05) *
It happens.

Were you really in lane 2 at 40, with everyone else doing ~70? Good grief!

An embarrassing yes.
Jlc
Tricky one - the previous limit holds until a different limit is displayed (or NSL). But as the NSL of that road is 70 (for cars at least) then if there fails to be a 'repeaters' for a prescribed distance (which isn't that far) then one can assume the limit is NSL.
Kickaha
Have you got a ticket, or are you just being paranoid?
peterguk
QUOTE (Peppipoo316 @ Sat, 23 Apr 2016 - 12:55) *
At one point I was being overtaken and undertaken by faster drivers

Cars are allowed in lane one, as well as lorries.
The Rookie
In fact if you aren't passing someone you should be in lane 1!
Peppipoo316
QUOTE (Jlc @ Sat, 23 Apr 2016 - 13:53) *