Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Towed in 5 min from single yellow line - hackney council
FightBack Forums > Queries > Council Parking Tickets & Clamping and Decriminalised Notices
grazi2
Hi there,

I would really appreciate any help on this...

I live since 5 years around the corner from a street which has yellow lines... as far as I remember (and neighbours remember), there was never a sign on it. No idea when they put a small sign and on 30/12 - at 8.46am they issues a fine on our car and all cars parked - and took our car within 5 min of issuing the ticket.

I'm attaching the documents and definitely want to appeal - the grounds of my appeal will be - and please let me know if you think this will be worth going through:

- I'm a resident and have been living and parking there for 5 years, if the rules changes I should be notified? They're trying to implement residents parking permit on that street and they've sent letters so I assume they should send letters to change this? Myself and neighbours have been parking there for 2 years and never had any problems. My neighbour said the sign is new... but I'm not sure how new as I never noticed it before!

- The sign is very unclear - as it's a one way street and the sign is about 40 meters down the street - we were the first car to park in the evening with 3 kids - so very hard to see it - I'm attaching pictures. I also read it should be in the entrance of the street - is that right?

- The car was taken within 5 min - I read on the internet that they should allow 15 minutes at least - but not sure if that's also the case for single yellow lines?

Any help would be wonderful and I'd be so grateful... £265 was a very unexpected unfair price to pay out of the blue like that :-(

Many thanks,

Grazi
Jlc
Needs to be moved to the decrim forum - a mod should notice, if not hit the '! Report' button and ask nicely smile.gif