Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Any Advice Please..First ever speeding Offence 40 in a 30
amdai
post Sat, 22 May 2010 - 08:51
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 34,841

Hi guys,

Last night I offered to collect my friend from the pub, and on the way back I was stopped by 2 officers for doing 40mph in a 30 zone. I know speeding is an offence but I can help but feel cheated. I have had my licence for 10 years and its always been clean, Ive never so much as even been pulled over before!
It was 10pm, It was dark, on a quiet straight residental road. A cemetery one side and a huge park the other... You can see for at least half a mile in each direction from where I was. I certainly didnt expect them to be there!

There was one other vehicle in front of me. I expect everyone says this, but I dont normally speed, being an ex driving instructor, I would say I am a very careful and cautious driver. And I do feel cheated.
The two officers were stood at the side of the road with a hand speed gun. I was wondering if I have any grounds for appeal? I didnt have my drivers license with me so they did a radio check and I have a fixed penalty notice which I have to produce at the station within 7 days.
It would seem the officer dealing with my paperwork, was his first night on the job, he was very nervous, he kept flicking throught his handbook notes on what to do next!? My name on the FPN was spelt incorrectly, and the name of the road is totally incorrect, not just spelt wrong? On section B, documents I have to produce, has been left blank? The offence code is ES2 Laser 122.5 metres. Then I was given my fixed penalty notice and sent on my way. Do they have a copy of this papaerwork they have given me? beacause it seemed I was given everything they recorded?
I would love some advice.

Thankyou all in advance
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post

Start new topic
Replies (1 - 9)
Advertisement
post Sat, 22 May 2010 - 08:51
Post #

Advertise here!

Quote Post
Grant_W