Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Speeding
gallorgs
post Tue, 10 Sep 2019 - 02:38
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 105,595

Hi
OK so i have been caught on camera for doing 70 mph in a 30 zone in a very Industrial zone at about 7.50 am on Saturday 6th July

I received the notice to prosecute letter within 14 days which was all correct

I have a lot of questions which i hope you can bare with me, First of all i have been driving for about 20 years with no points ever been on my licence

So the first question how long do i have to wait until i hear back the police or do i hear from the court?

Can i claim legal aid as i am on National living wage?

Should i get a solicitor & does anyone know any good ones in the Midlands???

And should i start talking to them now or wait to hear from the Police/Forum

Obviously i will have to go for mitigating circumstances, would i need to provide proof that i could lose my drop as i couldn't get to my job as its a 40 minute drive & working different shifts, I also have 2 children one is 10 mths old & my oldest has been diagnosed as Autistic

I no doubt have more questions later

Many Thanks in advance for reading & helping

Cheers

Paul

Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 19)
Advertisement
post Tue, 10 Sep 2019 - 02:38
Post #

Advertise here!

Quote Post
The Rookie
post Tue, 10 Sep 2019 - 05:52
Post #2

Member No.: 317

Once the driver is named (have you already done that?) it’s likely to be about 6 months from the date of offence before the driver gets a ‘summons’ (Single Justice Procedure Notice) which is sent out by the Police. Some forces send a letter stating the case will be going to court (as opposed to another remedy) most do not.

You don’t get legal aid, no.

You probably don’t need a solicitor anyway, unless you think you have a defence, maybe let us know where it happened so things can be looked at?