PePiPoo Helping the motorist get justice Support health workers

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Euro Car Parks Newbury, need help with POPLA please
limpet
post Fri, 16 Aug 2019 - 20:17
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 105,279

RK is at the stage of needing to submit a POPLA appeal, would really appreciate having some advice from all you experienced fighters! Thanks so much to everyone who can help in advance!

Incident of 'overstaying by 20 mins' took place Sun 7 July and was calculated via ANPR photo timings. RK received PCN as a NTK (image hopefully below) from ECP by post, letter is dated 17 July and received Sat 20 July. PCN appears to fulfil requirements of POFA, but I am not an expert so would appreciate if someone could cast an eye over before RK sends the appeal to POPLA!

RK submitted an online appeal to ECP on 22 July saying RK refuses to disclose the driver and asking for more evidence, as suggested at https://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/showth...d.php?t=4816822. ECP denied the appeal via email on 15 Aug and sent photos and record of the payment that was made (images of all info ECP sent hopefully below)

RK has not submitted a complaint to the retailer, because the car park is behind a high street with many shops and there is no single retailer who would be connected with that car park. This is a paid car park, not free, charges are £1 per hour 24 hrs a day.

What do you guys think is the best approach for POPLA? I reckon the best grounds is 'The charge is disproportionate and not a genuine pre-estimate of loss'. This is because, being a Sunday afternoon, the few shops that are open shut around 4pm, so the car park was practically empty at that time, so there cannot have been any material loss to anyone's business other than an extra £1 for car parking.

I'm not sure if the grace period is sufficient grounds, as there are 5 mins between entry camera timestamp and purchasing ticket, and 15 mins between end of 3 hours and exit camera timestamp.