Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Teenage speeding
machinehead
post Sat, 9 Mar 2019 - 09:45
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 99,342

Hi, posting for my lad.

Got pulled over for doing 65 in a 40 on a dual carriageway. My fault but I've never driven this road before and the sign stating the speed was broken and unreadable. I thought it was the national speed limit. Anyway, the council have confirmed that a repair was made to the speed sign after the date I was stopped. The officer showed me on his dashcam how fast I was going and although I admitted to it and pointed out the broken sign he proceeded to gob off at me calling me a 'little d1ckhe@d'. This is my first time being done for speeding so I am wondering what to expect? I'm 19 and on apprentice wages and just under the 2 year passed limit. V worried. Also, it's been over 2 weeks and nothing thru' the post.

Any advice would be appreciated.

This post has been edited by machinehead: Sat, 9 Mar 2019 - 09:46
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post

Start new topic
Replies (1 - 19)
Advertisement
post Sat, 9 Mar 2019 - 09:45
Post #

Advertise here!

Quote Post
The Slithy Tove
post Sat, 9 Mar 2019 - 10:17
Post #2

Member No.: 52,178

You were probably given a verbal NIP at the roadside, so you won't get an NIP/S.172 in the post, so forget any 14 day deadline. I'm not qualified to comment if you have any kind of "defence" regarding the signage.

+Quote Post
The Rookie
post Sat, 9 Mar 2019 - 10:30
Post #3

Member No.: 317

Any photos of the signage? How broken? Did YOU see it?

A Google street view link to where the broken sign was and also for where he was actually stopped would help.

The broken signage MAY be a defence, however if he's been written up for 65 then there's a good chance he'll get offered a fixed penalty (he's right at the upper limit) of 3pts and £100 which is certainly preferable to going to court.