PePiPoo Helping the motorist get justice Support health workers

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Can I take the London Tribunal to Judicial Court for Inconsistency of the law?, Bus lane Appeal refused when another similar case overturned
sjhall
post Tue, 19 Jun 2018 - 09:57
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 81,797

Firstly I would like to say that, up to this point I’ve been quite successful with having both private and council tickets overturned so I’m not a novice at this sort of thing.

I have just attended a hearing at the London Tribunals for a case where I was caught on CCTV using the last several meters of a bus lane in filtering into the left lane to make a left turn at the lights. A common case I’m sure and one that made the newspapers back in 2015 by a Mr Kornbluth - see link;

https://www.driving.co.uk/news/putting-a-st...-lane-cash-cow/

I appealed on the basis that;

That the charge is not proportionate to the offence, it was a minor infringement,
Merton Council are targeting people to gain revenue,
I gained no advantage in filtering left and no bus was utilising the lane at the time.
This exact same case has already been appealed and been overturned (see link) and therefore a precedent has been set and should therefore continue

Fine is NOT proportionate to offence

The case was refused at every juncture right up to the adjudicators decision where I asked for a review of the adjudicators decision on the basis that the outcome was a) in the public interest and b) in the interest of justice

I was granted an audience and I attended the hearing and pleaded my case stating that;

The cases were identical
I was in the bus lane for a shorter period of time and distance than Mr Kornbluth &
An adjudicator (trained lawyer) from the Traffic Penalty Tribunal of England and Wales overturned an identical case stating that and I quote -

“‘minor infringements of the rules are not to be treated as contraventions subject to enforcement’

so