PePiPoo Helping the motorist get justice Support health workers

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

PCN/NTO Lincoln Saltergate, On cycle track while loading
#Slytherin
post Wed, 9 Oct 2019 - 15:28
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 106,088

Hi there, I'm new here -- I've been doing what I can to help myself as I thought being a law student I ought to be able to figure this out, but I'm running against a few brick walls and hoped I could get some help here.

Basically I work as a courier for Deliveroo and there's a branch of Burger King in Lincoln that's inside a shopping centre which itself is inside a large pedestrianized zone. For some reason, customers keep ordering from that branch rather than the one not far away that has its own free car park!! For the shopping centre there's a loading bay you can use, but it has a barrier across it and sometimes the intercom isn't manned and you can't get it raised. There's no legal parking (other than for disabled people) within reasonable loading distance of the centre.

The day I got this parking ticket, I had tried getting into the loading bay but got no answer on the intercom. We're timed and pressured as couriers, so I felt like I had no choice but to park on the path nearby, which is split into footpath and cycle track. I left the car with the windows open and my Deliveroo branded spare bags and jacket were on the front seat in clear view -- it couldn't really have been any clearer that I was a courier, loading, and would be back any minute. I was gone literally 6 minutes (it was timed on my courier app), and when i got back, I saw a traffic warden hurriedly walking away from the car and a ticket was on it. I mean he must have been literally waiting to pounce the second I was gone, as I was barely gone long enough to even fill in the ticket!!