Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

DRP > ZENITH > GLADSTONE
jukedog
post Mon, 23 Apr 2018 - 11:50
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 97,643

Hi there,

Apologies, for the new thread on an old topic – but I’ve been through all the newbie threads/posts, and can’t find anything similar – so here we go.

Driver parked on a private dirt track by the side of the kids’ school, like any other normal day. Not sure if it’s allowed or not (no signs to say yay or nay), but all the school mum’s have been parking there for years without issue or consequence. We get back from a family holiday to find a letter from DRP asking for £160 for “parking within a restricted area”. The creditor is listed as CUP Enforcement. Wife says there has never been anything affixed to the windscreen, and no original PCN notice received through the post, which I would have expected from CUP. I am new to this (and normally just pay parking fines), so I (probably) do all the wrong things by first calling DRP for more information. I get nowhere, so then I write to them. I also try CUP, but end up in circles. So my letter goes to DRP.

My letter doesn’t admit anything, neither does it say who was driving. All I simply ask is if they can send me a copy of the original PCN notice which usually allows one to review the alleged infringement, and if one agrees, pay the charge promptly at a lower rate. My point is, that if the driver had parked incorrectly, and were fined, the driver would have just paid up. But I refuse to pay the higher rate of £160 if we never had a chance to review the alleged infringement in the first place, and pay the lower rate. I argued this on the phone, but was told that they did post out an earlier letter. We never received it, and I’m sure this was a lie to get more money – but they said that their franking stamp was proof of postage and also proof of it being received to me! So why didn’t they just re-send it then, with proof of that franking stamp? (they never did).