Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Bus Lane PCN in London
JustMe2017
post Thu, 21 Dec 2017 - 20:59
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 95,667

Hi all,
I've received a PCN for 'Being in a Bus Lane' on Lambeth Road in London, on my scooter.
I drove through the area of a zebra crossing (the zig-zags), thinking that the zig-zags area did not constitute a bus lane (no sold white line, therefore no bus lane - is my reasoning).
I did 'cut the corner' of the bus-lane while doing a U-turn, and did encroach on it for a few meters (5-10 metres I would guess).... I didn't think driving for just a few yards in a bus lane was a problem.
Photos of the 'infringement' are below, along with copies of the PCN.
Any advice on if I can argue anything about this would be very much appreciated.

My initial thoughts... (which may all be nonsense, as I have no legal background!)...

1. My understanding is that a bus lane is marked by a solid white line. If there is no solid white line (i.e. through the zig-zags), then surely this can't be a bus-lane?
2. I only drove through (what I understand to be) the bus-lane (solid white line) for just a few yards..... I thought there was some kind of 20-metre rule (or did I imagine that?!)
3. They have supplied 4 images (below). 1 of them shows the scooter doing a U-turn and encroaching on the last few yards of what I thought was a bus-lane, however the registration plate is not visible. Surely this is not any proof of the scooter in question contravening anything, as it can not be identified.
4 The next 2 images show the scooter driving through the zig-zags; the registration plate is not readable. So, firstly I don't think this is part of the bus lane, and secondly the scooter can't be identified from these photos.
5. The 4th & final image shows a close-up of the registration plate, but nothing else in the picture; this is therefore not an image of any contravention?