Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Wanted - 125cc Bike for Learner
firefly
post Wed, 22 Jun 2005 - 11:31
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 298

Hi all,

I'm starting a new job next month and I've decided to go on two wheels as opposed to four.  I can't be bothered with sitting on a train day in, day out - so I've decided the best thing to do would be to pass my CBT test and get a bike.

I'm a total beginner, but I was thinking about getting a second hand 125cc bike (Aprilia, Honda).  Can anyone:
i) Recommend, or know of anyone who would sell such a thing
ii) Advise of the best kind of bike for me (I'd like as much grunt as 125cc can offer... icon_wink.gif )

Any other tips that you think would help would be gratefully received.

Cheers.

--------------------
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
3 Pages V   1 2 3 >  
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 19)
Advertisement
post Wed, 22 Jun 2005 - 11:31
Post #

Advertise here!

Quote Post
chadders
post Wed, 22 Jun 2005 - 11:43
Post #2

Member No.: 1,888

Hi ff, may be a good idea to stick down your 'area' if you haven't already got an instructor lined up. Word of mouth is always best, and there seems to be a lot of bikers in here.

+Quote Post
peteturbo
post Wed, 22 Jun 2005 - 13:00
Post #3

Member No.: 1,219

ff,

the first thing is to decide your long term ambitions.

Cos if all you want the 125 for is to pass your test, then just spend peanuts on anything that  is fully legal, relaible and will sell fast afterwards, so you have more money for the real bike.

If you are going to keep the 125, what type if bike do you prefer?  sports, commuter, scooter, easy wan / rider.

The danger is;  My first 'bike' was a C50, then a 100cc test machine only whilst i dreamt of a cb200 benley commuter.  Trouble is that after passing my test, and looking at 200cc bikes, a bloody 350LC crept upon me and changed my life.  20 year ago that were.  You wont know what these numbers mean, but the bikers reading will - and you may soon too!