Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Dart Charge Gone too far & can't undo?
Wheels
post Mon, 10 Sep 2018 - 18:57
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 50,542

Hi Folks

I am a disabled driver with three cars registered for congestion charge. My fully exempt car and two additional ones. So we went through the Dartford Tunnel and it had the same congestion charge symbol so I thought we were exempt from paying.

Alongside this I am a carer for my daughter who is a mental health patient and I deal with all her affairs and everything important is addressed to me. Unfortunately, we were in a car registered to her and the dart charge came to her. She usually stuffs things in cupboards and drawers and doesn't read anything, so I did not know about it. When I found out I wrote to appeal and they decided we could pay the original £2.50, but unfortunately we did not get the letter and it ended up back with a penalty charge and they told me to appeal to the tec and they could then return to the £2.50 fee again, but not until then. So I did a TE7&9 and awaited a response. I had sent them in by email, wishing was acknowledged as processed and enforcement suspended on 11 August. I heard no more.

Today I get a frantic call from my hysterical daughter who said the bailiff was on his way to get £700 or he was taking her car. Her car is her lifeline, if I am in too much pain to get to her, or if she is having a panic attack, she can get to me, or another friend or family member for support. She had a complete meltdown.