PePiPoo Helping the motorist get justice Support health workers

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Received Several Debt Recovery Letters Threatening Court Action
Jak Brown
post Tue, 19 Oct 2021 - 15:06
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 114,447

Hi All. Apologies if this has been covered before, I'm new to this site and unsure on how to use it properly.

I received a PCN from Smart Parking some time ago, and immediately set out to appeal through Smart Parking website. The grounds I appealed on were that my engine light flashed on my dashboard, and as a new driver I was unsure how serious this could be and wanted to pull over ASAP to make a few phone calls and search for advice online. Because I was near Manchester Airport, there were very few places I could actually stop, with most areas being 'Red Bay Zones' or at least some signage telling drivers not to stop at any time. I seen a car park and parked inside, so I could proceed to find advice on whether it was safe keep driving. My failure to purchase a ticket for my 18 minute stop was simply an oversight- I genuinely completely forgot I needed to pay for parking, it just slipped my mind as I was more concerned with my car and getting home safely, and of course the length of time and me not actually 'parking' didn't trigger a realisation that I had to pay for my stay. In my appeal I offered to of course pay for the length of time I was there, or even pay a fair but more, but felt it was unfair to pay a whole £60 just because I stopped for 18 minutes to check my car and ensure it was safe to continue driving. After the appeal I didn't hear back from Smart Parking. I was not, at any point, informed that my appeal had been rejected. Fast forward some weeks, and I'm now receiving SEVERAL letters from Debt Recovery Plus ordering me to pay £170(!!) or be taken to court.