PePiPoo Helping the motorist get justice Support health workers

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

dvla clamps
markadams
post Thu, 18 Jul 2019 - 05:56
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 48,200

I am a car trader, i have motor trade insurance, and all vehicles are purchased via main agents, put `in trade` using the yellow slip, and stay in my custody or control until sold.
Being `in trade` as i recall means i dont have to tax insure the car etc. If the car needs moving, or for demonstration i use trade plates.

I can only keep 7 cars at home so i use a couple of private parking areas. I have a friend with a flat in each so use the many many available parking spaces as i dont have premises. Private car par, private land.

So i went to my cars yesterday and the cars had been clamped, clearly reported to dvla. Maybe dvla hadnt checked they were in trade and it stated they had been reported to dvla and clamped. The company that clamped them i believe is NSL and they have a compound in west bromwich.

A quick look on the gov.uk website tells me these cars need to be sorned, but how can i take a sorned car onto the road for a text drive? Or for an mot?

So this morning i need to make some calls and am asking your incredible brains where i stand with this.

i have read this....

https://www.gov.uk/sorn-statutory-off-road-...n/motor-traders

It doesnt make good reading especially as i dont have `business premises` which actually means i cant park them at home without SORN, and if i do and their on a test drive im then also comitting anoffence

This post has been edited by markadams: Thu, 18 Jul 2019 - 06:17
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
7 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 19)
Advertisement
post Thu, 18 Jul 2019 - 05:56
Post #

Advertise here!

Quote Post
Logician
post Thu, 18 Jul 2019 - 11:32
Post #2

Member No.: 36,528

I think the situation is as follows, but stand to be corrected:

Cars kept on your drive