PePiPoo Helping the motorist get justice Support health workers

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Care Parking Charge Notice - HELP!, Ticket fixed to window in train station car park
Manchester_Commu...
post Tue, 11 Dec 2018 - 16:52
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 101,392

In October whilst my vehicle was parked at the station car park it received a parking charge notice from Care Parking. I was not the driver at the time but I am the registered keeper. I have appealed directly to Care Parking which was rejected (letter below) and now plan to appeal to POPLA. I have never done anything like this before and after reading up feel a little overwhelmed hence this post asking for help!

Attached Image

Background:

The station car park is in two sections; one tarmaced, one gravel. As I understand it, the tarmaced section is owned by the railway and they have CareParking enforce the parking. The gravel section is owned by a local charitable trust who allow commuters to park there and there are no rules/signs. There are also no marked bays on the gravel. The vehicle was parked with two wheels on the tarmac and two on the gravel (see picture). The ticket has been issued for 'parking outside of a marked bay' in contravention of the car park contract which is displayed on the signs and for obstructing other vehicles (which it was not). Is there an argument here about CareParking having the authority to issue the ticket in the first place given this is arguable not relevant land? (I'm assuming the end of the tarmac is the boundary, but cannot be certain).

Attached Image

From reading advice on forums I have pulled together the following arguments:

1. No legitimate interest in enforcing a charge leading to an unenforceable penalty